Advanced Driver Improvement FAQs

How do I know if I need to take an advanced driver improvement class?

If your driver's license has been suspended or revoked as a result of points or you have been in three crashes in 36 months where you were at fault, most likely you will need a 12-hour driving course called advanced driver improvement (ADI) to keep your driving privileges.

My license is suspended as a result of points. How do I drive again?

If you sign up for ADI traffic school and get your enrollment verification, you can provide this as proof to get your hardship license. Once you get your enrollment letter and driving record information, you need to submit it to the Florida Bureau of Administrative Review office nearest to you http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/forms/hsmv78015-2.html

How can I get my enrollment verification?

We offer two ways during registration, by instant email or first-class mail. You may want to choose the instant email enrollment verification to get your hardship license sooner. It is the fastest and easiest way available to get back on the road.

What is a hardship license?

A hardship license is a restricted license that allows limited driving. Typically, it only permits you to drive to and from your place of employment and to other locations deemed essential. You can use a hardship license while your full driver's license is suspended if you get it approved by the DHSMV.

Is this course approved?

Yes, we are approved by the DHSMV to administer this online Advanced Driver Improvement course. Successful completion of this course will meet the requirement set forth by the DHSMV.

How long is the ADI course?

The Florida ADI course is required by law to be a minimum of 12 hours.

Do I have to complete the course all in one sitting?

No, our online traffic school courses save your progress as you go, so you may log on and off as much as you want, allowing you to complete your ADI course at your own pace, when it's convenient for you. Your login is good for up to 90 days, but you may have a shorter deadline from the DHSMV or court.

What do I need to have to take the course?

Only an internet connection is needed. The course offers everything necessary, so you don't need to have any workbooks or other materials.

What are the laws regarding license suspension from point accumulation in Florida?

12 points in 12 months 30-day suspension
18 points within 18 months 3-month suspension
24 points within 36 months 12-month suspension

What is the "Three Crashes in Three Years" Law?

Florida statutes require that if a motorist was convicted or pled no contest to 3 traffic violations which caused a crash within 3 years, you must complete an approved driver improvement course that includes behind-the-wheel training and a driving assessment. The department will notify you after the 3rd crash if you need to complete these requirements.

To avoid driver license cancellation, you must:

  • Complete an approved Advanced Driver Improvement course (ADI)
  • Complete 4-hours of behind-the-wheel training from a licensed commercial driving school
  • Pass the extended road test with a DL examiner

What do I do once I complete the course?

If you are taking the ADI class because your license has been suspended or revoked, or because you are labeled as a habitual traffic offender, then we will provide your certificate of completion straight to the DHSMV, letting them know you've completed the approved Florida 12-hour advanced driver improvement course. You will then receive notice from the court on what next steps to take to get your license reinstated.

However, if you took the ADI class because you were ordered by the court, you must turn in your completion certificate to the court on or before your due date.

We will provide you a certificate of completion once you successfully pass the course either way.